Russ Rainger

Councillor for Aldeburgh & Leiston Division, Suffolk County Council

RUSS RAINGER and his wife have lived in Suffolk since 2008. He joined the Snape Parish Council in 2014, taking an interest in the delivery of the Community Emergency Plan, along with matters around the operation of Sizewell A and B sites and of course the proposed Sizewell C construction. With a safety background, Russ has also been vigilant in tackling traffic issues.

He is also a Chartered Manager and sits on the Board of the Leiston Community Land Trust, a community group looking at project to regenerate Leiston Town Centre and other Community and Social projects like the Men’s Shed.

Russ has also become interested in steam engines; moreover, he has become Vice Chair on the Board of Trustees at Leiston Long Shop Museum. Using his MBA and Project Management experience to assist the museum in the day-to-day operations of their Community Projects and some of the big museum events. He is a Founder Member of the English Toastmasters Association and this has taken him to a variety of locations including the Palace of Westminster.

Russ says, “As your  County Councillor, I want to address traffic and speeding problems throughout our town and villages. I also want to ensure that residents views are heard regarding the energy projects in our area and will work to provide our region with the infrastructure improvements it needs to cope with a larger Sizewell and Windfarms”

Get in touch:


Telephone: 01728 688739




See Also

Stephen Burroughes

Councillor for Framlingham Division, Suffolk County Council

STEPHEN BURROUGHES has been County Councillor for the Framlingham Division since May 2013. Stephen is Suffolk ‘born and bred’ and lives in the Chediston with his wife Wendy and family.

Stuart Bird

Councillor for Felixstowe North & Trimley villages Division, Suffolk County Council

Stuart is 54, was born in Ipswich and has lived in Felixstowe for 26 years.He has represented Felixstowe North and Trimley Division (which includes the Walton area of Felixstowe and the Parishes of Trimley St Mary and St Martin) at Suffolk County Council since 2017. 

Tony Goldson

Councillor for Halesworth Division, Suffolk County Council

TONY GOLDSON  was first elected to Suffolk County Council in 2009.  Having served as assistant to the cabinet member for roads and transport, he is currently the cabinet member for health. 

Michael Ladd

Councillor for Kessingland & Southwold Division, East Suffolk Council

MICHAEL LADD is 58 years old and married with two grown-up children. Having lived and worked in this part of Suffolk all his life, he believes has a strong sense of what people want from the place where they live, work and play.


Councillor for Felixstowe Coastal Division, Suffolk County Council

GRAHAM NEWMAN has been a Suffolk County Councillor for Felixstowe Coastal since 2005 and has a proven record of delivering for the town. He has held Cabinet positions in Adult Care, Children’s Services & Education; and Roads & Transport.


Councillor for Wickham Division, Suffolk County Council

Alexander Nicoll writes... My wife, who has family from Suffolk, and I moved to make our permanent home here in 2011.

Patricia O'Brien

Councillor for Martlesham Division, Suffolk County Council

PATRICIA O'BRIEN has lived in Martlesham Division for 30 years and has been a County Councillor for 16 years, representing the Colneis Division from 2001-2005 and Martlesham since 2005 following boundary changes.

Andrew Reid

Councillor for Wilford Division, Suffolk County Council

ANDREW REID was brought up in East Suffolk and has lived in the area with his wife Clare and three children for over 20 years. His background is in financial services and risk management and he now owns and runs local businesses.

Richard Smith

Councillor for Blything Division, Suffolk County Council

RICHARD SMITH, who has been the County Councillor for Aldeburgh & Leiston since 2010, will be contesting the Blything division, which includes Saxmundham where he now lives.