Five to contest Conservative Party leadership

FIVE candidates will contest the Conservative Party leadership following David Cameron's resignation after Britain's referendum vote to leave the European Union.

MPs will vote on Tuesday to begin the elimination of three names, leaving the remaining two to be put to the membership of the Party for a decision. Whoever wins will become automatically Prime Minister.

The five contestants are: Stephen Crabb (Work & Pensions Secretary), Liam Fox (former Defence Secretary), Michael Gove (Justice Secretary), Andrea Leadsom (Energy Minister) and Theresa May (Home Secretary).